Coming of Spring

Magnolias

Spring is sneaking its way into Sydney and the assignments are starting to pile up too. I do like this time of year when it starts to get warmer but there’s still a slight chill in the air but what I like best is the new buds on trees, the green grass that sprouts and how students appear to thaw from their gormless self from winter.

What I don’t like is the massive amount of readings, research, writing I need to prepare for my assignments due in the next few weeks. It’s a struggle for me to get back into the flow of it all especially after our mid-semester break and procrastination ruled. My classmates and I share the same problem – we’re finding it really difficult to motivate ourselves to a) do the work that’s required and b) make a good job of it.

This is why we’ve decided to set up a small sized writing group (4-6 postgraduate writing students) to come together once a fortnight and just write using various writing prompts. Also, in order to encourage us to write outside of the group – we have to bring in a piece of writing to be critiqued by the others in the group. This also includes discussions on favourite books, writers and anything writing related we may wish to share with our fellow writers.

I admit I’m fortunate to have a base in which I can do this. It does help immensely with my own creative output and drive. Every time I think about the full length feature screenplay I need to submit at the end of semester, my insides fold in on itself. Hopefully this will be the impetus to get me cracking.

Leave a comment